Amos

April 3, 2015

Shedding

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , — amosthebordercollie @ 10:43 am

At sheepdog school, Sue is always telling Mum what a talented dog I am 😀

I do nice long, wide outruns, lift the sheep beautifully, fetch them calmly, (most of the time – sometimes I go a bit too fast and Sue says I’m just being naughty!) and keep an eye out for any thinking about breaking away. I balance the sheep naturally.

I do beautiful flanks, but am also very happy to drive the sheep, watching them all the time and tucking in any going astray. I stay calm and focused.   

If Mum wants them in a pen, I listen to her and together we steer them in. I hold my ground if any of them turn and stamp at me, but never lose my temper. 

Last week I began something new. First of all, Sue told Mum to lean against the fence post and ask me to bring her the sheep. Then she said absolutely nothing to me for the next few minutes, so I had to think for myself! I took the bunch of sheep right up to her, then watched them closely and worked around the back of them to keep them there. I had to keep my eyes peeled and be nimble-footed.

“Can you not see how talented he is?” enquired Sue, as I spotted every single wooly thinking about dashing off across the field.

“He’s in the right place all the time – he really reads his sheep.” 

I flashed a couple of looks at Mum after a while, asking what she wanted me to do next. The answer surprised me – she called me to her right through the middle of the sheep! I did as I was asked, but kept my eye on them all the time – they’re tricky things, sheep – you can’t afford to take your eye off them! We repeated the process a couple of times, which reassured me I was doing the right thing, and everyone seemed pleased 🙂

Apparently. I’ve begun to learn about shedding 😀

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

